Reviews

9.1
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.0
Property Location
8.6
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.5
Value
9.1

Reviews

    Yin Oo
    sg

    Review Score

    10
    April 11, 2018

    Perfect leisure spot

    Hillock is located at the center of kalaw, on top of hill. Rooms are quite nice, good hygiene, and quiet. Best spot for our leisure, easily accessible to any kalaw famous cafe, restaurants, sunset view points, kalaw market and 'manawhla' mountain hiking path is nearby. Breakfast is amazing both English & traditional Shan food. We had a great stay :)
    Eilene
    de

    Review Score

    8.8
    June 14, 2018

    Nice place to stay

    - bathroom did not compare to the nice room as it seemed a little old, but was certainly very clean and provided everything we needed including a hot shower - breakfast tasted lovely, but unfortunately one has to choose between eggs or pancakes which was a little disappointing
    - Super friendly and helpful staff who took their time to explain to us where everything was located in town and made great recommendations on trekking agencies - very big and nicely decorated room with comfy bed and fridge - beautiful premises - lovely breakfast - very clean
    Suchith(SriLanka)
    lk

    Review Score

    9.2
    June 13, 2018

    Lovely stay at a nice colonial cottage like place with wonderful breakfast.

    I was not able to get through to them by phone though I repeatedly tried to ahead of my arrival. The room I stayed was next to the reception as that was the only one available at the first night when I arrived 3am. I was offered another next day but didnt feel that I needed it and unless you are a super light sleeper you should be fine.
    The room was comfortable and the place had a great look and feel to it with a sort of a colonial cottage look. I stayed there two nights and had a good time. The staff was helpful and pointed me towards sightseeing in Kalaw and to a hiking company. The breakfast was what I liked most about the place as it was wonderful. They had options of western breakfast, shan noodles or fried rice along with fruits, samosas, coffee and fresh juice. The big table outside was a lovely spot for breakfast when the sun is out.
    Patrick
    mm

    Review Score

    10
    June 11, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    J HaureT
    fr

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 31, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nisha
    hk

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 29, 2018

    Beautiful lodge in the mountains

    Nothing
    As it was low season, we were upgraded to a bigger room which was so comfortable and pristine. The owner speaks impeccable English and gave us a detailed introduction to the neighbourhood and what we could do that day. She gave us a very easy to follow map and we walked around the whole day. The room was lodge-style, with all the amenities we needed; bathtub, safe, fridge etc. We loved the stand alone fan that was in the room as we are not huge fans of AC. I have never slept so comfortably, the bed was just perfect for a good night's sleep. Our complimentary breakfast was phenomenal. You can select to have the local Shan noodles, which I would advise you do as they are divine! The staff were always asking if we wanted more. Wish we could have stayed longer!
    Ma
    mm

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alice
    it

    Review Score

    10
    May 11, 2018
    Nothing
    THe perfect place to chill and relax in Kalaw. The atmosphere is magic, the house and the rooms are so beautiful and clean. Breakfast is amazing. Staff is super nice and helps you with everything. Would definitely stay there again!!
    Megan
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    May 5, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Luís
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 28, 2018

    Peaceful and relaxing place in Kalaw!

    Everything was great!
    Fantastic breakfast and staff! Really peaceful and relaxing experience!
    JONATHAN
    au

    Review Score

    10
    April 28, 2018
    Nothing - perfect stay!
    Very stylish and clean rooms! Comfy beds and extremely friendly and helpful staff! Can only recommend!
    Rob
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 26, 2018
    Nothing!
    Can not recommend this place enough. Such lovely rooms, clean, best breakfast we’ve had in our month in Myanmar and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We arrived in the early hours the night before and they still sorted us a bed with no extra charge! Definitely stay here!
    Adam
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 25, 2018
    Nothing.
    Everything.
    Sarah
    nz

    Review Score

    10
    April 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Daniel
    th

    Review Score

    10
    April 18, 2018

    Very relaxing place where you can slow down and get ready for a nice trek

    Walls are a bit thin, bring your earplugs
    Beautiful buildings, nice rooms with wooden walls, fantastic breakfast, the friendliest staff ever!
    Pauline Yongeun
    kh

    Review Score

    8.8
    April 16, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nwè
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 14, 2018

    A treasure in Kalaw

    There was not heater/AC that could be used as heater in the room. It gets a little chilly in the morning even in late March. I think I read in the reviews beforehand that heaters can be borrowed at a small fee. We didn’t need it. The hot water supply is limited. I had a nice hot bath on the morning of our departure and it caused some inconvenience to other guests in the same building, I gathered :P
    We stayed for two nights in two rooms on the ground floor of the main building. Everything was perfect and lovely attentive staff. We liked the rooms decor very much. Breakfast under the pine trees was excellent but don’t eat the pickled mustard leaves that come with super tasty Shan noodles. Laundry service was good and reasonably priced. They even lend you yoga mats which I didn’t see until the check-out. Plenty of space in the room to do your holiday exercises :) Walking to town in early morning was pleasant and enjoyable. We will definitely come back again!
    Rebecca
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 14, 2018
    Rooms were quite noisy (noise from outside could be heard at night) A bit of a walk to local restaurants
    Beautiful gardens Delicious breakfast Very nice, helpful staff Board games available
    ali sedaghat
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 9, 2018
    Everthing
    Martin
    ch

    Review Score

    10
    April 2, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews...