Reviews

9.1
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.0
Property Location
8.6
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.5
Value
9.1

Reviews

    Ori
    il

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 17, 2018
    The reception is only open until 6pm, and the shower did not have hot water (just a little). The location is nice but takes a short walk uphill from city center
    Extremely nice garden and with a very home-like feeling. They also serve great breakfast!
    Karen van der Westhuizen
    kr

    Review Score

    10
    August 16, 2018

    The Best Accommodation in Myanmar

    Absolutely nothing. I liked everything about this place.
    The people who work here are super kind and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean and it honestly felt like I booked myself into a spa for 2 days because this was by far the best and most comfortable accommodation I've stayed in in Myanmar. If I had known how wonderful Hillock Villa and Kalaw would be, I would've changed my itinerary a bit. The breakfast was AMAZING- if you don't try the shan style noodles, you will miss out. Don't even think twice about booking a room at this place...just do it-you won't be sorry! :) I left Kalaw with a huge smile on my face!
    Lola B-Y
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 13, 2018

    FANTASTIC

    Service at Hillock was great.... Everyone was extremely helpful. We traveled with another family, we were 9 people total. We arrived at 4:30am.....the night manager quickly woke up and took us promptly to our rooms. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Morning breakfast was fantastic.... Eggs, pancakes, fruits......amazing! Hillock is located less than 10min walking distance to the city center..... Large open market every 5 days.
    Wut Yee
    mm

    Review Score

    5.0
    July 22, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Carol-Ann
    ca

    Review Score

    10
    September 13, 2018

    Wonderful place in Kalaw

    the place is calm, located in the mountains and not far away from the bus station. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was include and delicious. The best we had so far in Myanmar. Highly recommend it.
    Adrian79
    pl

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 9, 2018

    Beautiful place and garden

    No TV, not the best bathroom.
    Delicious breakfasts and fantastic service. A beautiful hotel and garden.Nice rooms.They clean very nicely in the rooms and throughout the facility.A nice and romantic place. I highly recommend :-)
    Mart
    nl

    Review Score

    9.2
    September 6, 2018
    The place is simply great
    Hellen
    it

    Review Score

    9.2
    August 31, 2018
    The staff‘s English is extremely limited. we asked them many times to book us a morning bus to Bagan and they booked us the night bus!no comment.
    The hotel was very nice.i like all vegetation around it.spacious rooms and clean.very relaxing.
    ch

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 29, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ch

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 27, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alberto Mazzieri
    it

    Review Score

    10
    August 18, 2018

    ABSOLUTELY RECOMMENDED!

    Koc
    de

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 10, 2018

    Cosy room and nice staff

    Bathroom kind of old and basic compared to nice room. Small uphill walk to hotel, which was ok for us but might be an issue for others. Reception was not always available.
    Wonderful staff. Rooms were not just cleaned, they also folded our clothes neatly. Lots of help from staff. Cosy room. 10 mins to city center. Beautiful houses. Breakfast consists of a la Carte choice from noodles, eggs (scrambled, fried, omelette) , bread, fruit bowl and pancakes.
    Judith Millar
    nz

    Review Score

    10
    August 4, 2018
    N/A
    Just a lovely quite setting beautiful gardens reminded me of home. Staff very helpful & always willing to help.
    Antonia
    de

    Review Score

    9.6
    July 25, 2018

    Great house and surroundings

    The English proficiency of the staff isn’t the best. We had a little booking problem and we were supposed to solve it instead of them contacting booking.com.
    Our comfort double room was in a very nice and apparently newly renovated building. You will feel very comfortable in there. Amazing breakfast, very quiet surroundings.
    Eilene
    de

    Review Score

    8.8
    June 14, 2018

    Nice place to stay

    - bathroom did not compare to the nice room as it seemed a little old, but was certainly very clean and provided everything we needed including a hot shower - breakfast tasted lovely, but unfortunately one has to choose between eggs or pancakes which was a little disappointing
    - Super friendly and helpful staff who took their time to explain to us where everything was located in town and made great recommendations on trekking agencies - very big and nicely decorated room with comfy bed and fridge - beautiful premises - lovely breakfast - very clean
    Suchith(SriLanka)
    lk

    Review Score

    9.2
    June 13, 2018

    Lovely stay at a nice colonial cottage like place with wonderful breakfast.

    I was not able to get through to them by phone though I repeatedly tried to ahead of my arrival. The room I stayed was next to the reception as that was the only one available at the first night when I arrived 3am. I was offered another next day but didnt feel that I needed it and unless you are a super light sleeper you should be fine.
    The room was comfortable and the place had a great look and feel to it with a sort of a colonial cottage look. I stayed there two nights and had a good time. The staff was helpful and pointed me towards sightseeing in Kalaw and to a hiking company. The breakfast was what I liked most about the place as it was wonderful. They had options of western breakfast, shan noodles or fried rice along with fruits, samosas, coffee and fresh juice. The big table outside was a lovely spot for breakfast when the sun is out.
    Patrick
    mm

    Review Score

    10
    June 11, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    J HaureT
    fr

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 31, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nisha
    hk

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 29, 2018

    Beautiful lodge in the mountains

    Nothing
    As it was low season, we were upgraded to a bigger room which was so comfortable and pristine. The owner speaks impeccable English and gave us a detailed introduction to the neighbourhood and what we could do that day. She gave us a very easy to follow map and we walked around the whole day. The room was lodge-style, with all the amenities we needed; bathtub, safe, fridge etc. We loved the stand alone fan that was in the room as we are not huge fans of AC. I have never slept so comfortably, the bed was just perfect for a good night's sleep. Our complimentary breakfast was phenomenal. You can select to have the local Shan noodles, which I would advise you do as they are divine! The staff were always asking if we wanted more. Wish we could have stayed longer!
    Ma
    mm

    Review Score

    9.2
    May 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews...